bakerisbetter

Homemade Oreos with a Cooked Flour Frosting

photo-9

Recipes Used:

What I Changed:

  • Quartered the cookie recipe and I think I made the cookies thicker/larger than they were supposed to be because I only wound up with like five LOL
  • Made 1/3 of the frosting recipe because I only wanted a cup of frosting
  • Split the sugar in the frosting so that half was added to the roux and half was added to the butter because most cooked flour frosting recipes didn’t add any sugar to the roux but admittedly it did seem like a really straightforward way to get rid of any potential graniness
  • Used homemade evaporated milk in the cooked flour frosting (had to strain it first)
  • Strained the roux as well to get rid of lumps

What I Liked:

  • I think the evaporated milk made the cooked flour frosting especially delicious :x
  • Cookies were on the crispy side instead of chewy, which is definitely what I was aiming for in looking through all the recipes
  • I liked that the cookies weren’t too sweet, just like real oreos :)

What I Would Change:

  • Make the cookies smaller?
  • Make a stamp for the cookies!!
  • I’ll probably add most of the sugar to the roux next time, just adding enough to the butter to get it to fluff up a bit
  • Maybe try a frosting recipe with caster sugar?

Comparable Recipes:

Other Comments:

  • I was afraid the frosting wouldn’t be good after a day or so because a lot of recipes said best used same day, but it turned out fine. It was still delish haha
  • I think this is a family favorite! Everyone loved them :) My mom told me I didn’t make enough
  • These would be really cute if I made them small/in mass for a party!
  • I’ve wanted to make a cooked flour frosting recipe for a while. I like it a LOT. It has much more flavor than a regular buttercream and it’s a lot fluffier/lighter, I think. Idk if that was just because I used evaporated milk, though…I don’t think it pipes as well as SMBC but again, it’s more flavorful.
  • It’s important to let the roux cook/boil for a sec! Can’t forget that :)
  • It looks like some recipes call for shortening in the filling to make the oreos more “authentic.” I might try that, but I do like this cooked flour frosting quite a bit…
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.