bakerisbetter

Garlic Bread

Note: This isn’t a photo of the garlic bread, but rather just the bread by itself! No photo of the bread with garlic butter ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

This recipe is a little all over the place cause of my brother’s crazy demands! Lol I wonder if he will read this…basically he asked for garlic bread from scratch, and I was like, “Sure, I love garlic bread!”ย I know my parents also like garlic bread, so yay! Finally, something that the whole family would actually eat ๐Ÿ˜›

So I started with a recipe for italian bread, and RIGHT after I mixed the ingredients he took a look at the recipe on my screen and pointed out that he had something different in mind. He pulled up toootally different recipes, so the next day, after the overnight rest, I modified the second half of the recipe I began with in order to accommodate his request as best as I could (knowing full well that I probably wouldn’t get the right result lol). Finally, after I actually started baking the bread, he noticed that I hadn’t added garlic powder into the recipe. which apparently he had wanted. In my defense, he had DEFINITELY pulled up one or two out of three recipes that didn’t call for garlic powder and I just don’t really like garlic powder for some reason…

Recipes Used:

What I Changed:

Bread

  • Like I said before, I used the “Lauren’s Latest” recipe instead of the second half of the Peter Reinhart when adding to the biga
  • I made only half of the recipe(s) because I didn’t want to make too much!
  • Had to bake until the entire loaf was significantly browned
  • Didn’t use the malt powder or semolina…totes unnecessary
  • Didn’t use the electric mixer for any of it! Think it turned out okay
  • Started kneading the bread without the biga (so basically just the lauren’s latest recipe) after I had added about 2/3 the flour (like the recipe said)…mistake…should just add all of it, or almost all. Wayyy too sticky lol

Garlic Butter

  • I mixed all of the ingredients except for the minced garlic. I took a TBSP or so and put it into a cup along with the garlic and popped it into the microwave for two 20-second increments to cook it a bit and flavor the mixture, then I strained out the garlic bits cause I didn’t want them in the bread. I thought they might burn and be really unpleasant to bite into.
  • I took out a TBSP of the Romano, good decision
  • I added the garlic butter right after I pulled the bread out of the oven. Then, I wrapped the bread in foil and popped it back in the broiler for another minute or so. It’s supposed to make it crispy on the outside and soft on the inside ๐Ÿ˜ฎ
  • I also kinda rubbed the bread with garlic before adding the garlic butter. Dunno how much that did, if anything

What I Liked:

  • The fact that the dough kept for a few days! I made one big loaf on Day 1 and 2 small loaves on Day 2. Really, really nice, considering one of my biggest problems is always that I bake too much!
  • The inside of the bread was super soft
  • There was a nice crust
  • Garlic Butter was yummy! Romano was a good add

What I Would Change:

  • Want to find an easier way to do the garlic butter mixture. Maybe just totally mash the garlic or use puree? Or cook bigger chunks of garlic in butter alone and then just remove the chunks?
  • I liked that the outside of the bread was really hard/crispy, but it may have even been TOO hard/crispy. Can’t really decide, but I think it’s worth it to research how I can control that ๐Ÿ˜ฎ
  • DON’T follow instructions to bake on the bottom of the oven. It will burn the bottom of the loaf. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
  • I’m going to need to let the bread cool more and actually create slices so that the garlic rubs off nicely and so that the toasting actually toasts the bread a bit more

Other Comments:

  • My brother said the plain loaf on Day 2 tasted yeast-y…not entirely sure what he meant by that…I think it’s more that the bread smelled like yeast (not terrible, but not exactly a pleasant smell…no clue how to describe it) but I feel like that’s sorta bound to happen if (a)ย you are an amateur bread-baker like me D:, (b)ย the bread is really fresh, and (c) you’re eating it plain without any sort of flavor/smell to mask it, cause it certainly didn’t smell yeast-y when that yummy garlic butter was slathered all over it ๐Ÿ˜€
  • On Day 1 of baking the second loaf rose a LOT over the course of 5-6 hrs…more than I think I’ve ever seen yeast rise. I had to pop it in the fridge overnight again and, unfortunately, the next morning it had tooootally deflated! I pulled it out and kept it at room temp, and it didn’t rise again on its own so I tried kneading. It did rise a bit after the knead but certainly not as much as it had that first day
  • I really need to get a thermometer for this stuff! Yeast needs liquid that is warm to the touch…I always forget that and risk KILLING MY YEAST.
  • On that note, confession…working with yeast always intimidates me a bit after this one time that I totally killed all of the poor little guys without realizing it, and I got stuck with millions (aka A LOTTTTT) of really, really sad cinnamon rolls and a LOT OF CINNAMON/BROWN SUGAR that I am STILL trying to use up, as you can see from my last few posts lolol
  • Need to take photos during the day. Need to find nice plates.
  • I hope I wake up early enough to make french toast out of the bread tomorrow! LOVEEE french toast. I’ve always liked it but it has really grown on me even more these past few months ๐Ÿ˜ฎ
One Comment on “Garlic Bread”

  1. Jenny Fan says:

    This looks so good!! Make some for me sometime? ๐Ÿ˜€


Leave a Reply

