bakerisbetter

Pecan Pie Cheesecake


My brother had another craving for his fave–pecan pie! I find pecan pie wayyy too sweet though, and I didn’t think anyone else would eat it but him. I suggested adding a cheesecake component, since my parents like cheesecake. I thought it might balance the sweetness.

Recipe Used:

What I Changed:

  • Reduced the sugar in the pecan pie to about 3 TBSP, good decision
  • Didn’t add any sugar in the crust
  • Reduced the brown sugar in the the cheesecake to about 2/3 Cup…the verdict on this is a little complicated…
  • Baked the crust for a minute or two longer than the recipe called for
  • Beat entirely by hand after the cream cheese was softened with the electric mixer in the first step

What I Liked:

  • The pecan pie part was PERFECT. Tasted wonderful. Blended beautifully with the vanilla wafer crust, and even with the massive sugar reduction it was plenty sweet (in a good way).
  • I’ve done pie, graham cracker, and oreo crusts before, but this was my first time with a vanilla wafer crust! It turned out great! The wafers were relatively easy to crush, and leftover vanilla wafers make awesome tea biscuits for later 😀 In general though, I suppose it’s pretty hard to go wrong with crushed cookies and butter lol
  • The texture of the cheesecake was fantastic–best out of any recipe I’ve ever tried 😮
  • This thing smelled AMAZING when it came out of the oven. Individually, pecan pie smells incredible and cheesecake smells alright, but the combination was like WOAH. I love new, delicious smells!

What I Would Change:

  • I could see the egg in the pecan pie filling curdling a tiny bit once the boiling started, which reaaaally bothered me!! Couldn’t taste it or see it or anything (thankfully), but it just drove me nuts lol. Might just leave the mixture on a really low heat setting for a really long time in the future
  • I was really conflicted on the cheesecake part. My first thought was that it definitely wasn’t sweet enough and that I had reduced the sugar too much. BUT what threw me off is that if you ate the cheesecake part WITH a bite of the pecan pie and crust, the sweetness was spot on! Sooo I don’t really know what to do about it! I want the cheesecake portion to be able to stand alone (if you’ve ever eaten with me, you’ve probably noticed that I often like to dissect my food heh) but I don’t want to make the whole thing overwhelmingly sweet. I come to the conclusion that adding cheesecake does NOT necessarily balance the sweetness of pecan pie because in order to have the cheesecake stand alone, the whole pie is gonna wind up being just as crazy sweet as pecan pie itself 😛
  • The other thing that really threw me off about the cheesecake was that I SWEAR I could sort of taste the flour in it? I think two things contributed that, though–first, the fact that the cheesecake wasn’t sweet enough! If I ate the cheesecake alone, I thought I tasted something off, but if I ate it with the pecan pie, it was perfect. Second, I think I am being paranoid because I feel like I have read somewhere before that adding flour to cheesecakes makes them taste weird :/ It’s all in my head!!!!!!!! I will continue to be open to cheesecake recipes with flour in them because I actually think the flour helped give the cheesecake a great texture. Also, I forget whether I’ve actually used flour in cheesecakes before (without having this issue) and I am too lazy to check right this moment lolol
  • The other thing that confused me about this recipe is the fact that it called for so much cheesecake! 3 blocks of cream cheese…what?? The comparable recipe (below) only called for one! I think I would have liked a smaller ratio of cream cheese: pecan pie, tbh. Clearly, I have a lot of reservations about the cheesecake part of this recipe x_x

Comparable Recipes:

Other Comments:

  • This was my first time using corn syrup! I’ve used golden syrup in pecan pie before, which is sort of similar. The dark corn syrup had a nice, much stronger flavor though 🙂
  • I really want to try following a cheesecake recipe where the egg whites are beaten separately to stiff peaks. Egg whites are always intimidating, but I’m never gonna learn until I try anyway, right?? The other day I was watching Bobby Flay (<333) and his throwdown show (whatever it’s called lol) and he challenged the owner of Junior’s to a cheesecake throwdown. Eileen from Eileen’s Cheesecake showed him her technique, which, you guessed it, involved beating the egg whites separately! I’ve never tried Junior’s, but I have tried Eileen’s and I really liked how fluffy it was. Love fluffy foods!
  • I love how the top of the cheesecake had that creme brulee-type browning/spotting going on! Looks good, even though I don’t really like creme brulee. Lol
  • Pecans are DELICIOUS.
  • My brother took forever to understand that Nilla Wafers are vanilla wafers. Still don’t know if he totally gets it. LOL
  • Dayum, that pecan pie bottom was good. I still don’t really love pecan pie overall, though…
Leave a Reply

