bakerisbetter

Bread Pudding

No photo again ๐Ÿ˜ฆ BUT I do have some other exciting photos coming soon!

We had a lot of leftover bagels and naan from random things that were all sorta stale so I decided to make bread pudding! It’s something that everyone in the family enjoys, which is always nice ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve made it quite a few times before and I still haven’t found that perfect recipe/ratio of ingredients/baking method. I’ve tried water baths, beating eggs for volume, swapping in cinnamon swirl bread, changing the amount of sugar, eggs, milk, trying cream instead of milk, and OMG so many other things. Because I was using such a random amount of bread (I’ve only used wonderbread and pepperidge farm slices before and those are easy to measure out in slices) and because no recipe has really won me over, I kinda just tried to do my own thing!! Sort of exciting, haha. I was reaaaallly happy with the result. I’m still gonna mess around with baking methods and stuff, but I think this is going to be my new standard ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

Recipe Used:

  • My own!!!
  • Beat 2 eggs with mixer for 4-5 mins (should thicken up and increase in volume quite a bit), Add 1 Cup Whole Milk, 2.5 TBSP Sugar, 1 TBSP Dark Corn Syrup, .5 TBSP Vanilla Extract and mix well.
  • In a separate bowl, take 2 TBSP of melted butter and drizzle it over about 4 Cups bread chunks, tossing the chunks and trying to coat as evenly as possible.
  • Pour the custard over the bread and mix allow the bread to soak it up. (I didn’t wind up using all of mine, I tossed about 1/4 Cup of the custard).ย Press down. Cover in plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight. (Important step)
  • Stir the mixture with a fork to loosen it with a bit and make sure that the top few bread chunks pick up any custard that remains at the bottom. (There shouldn’t be too much left at the bottom. When I pressed down on the top a tiny bit seeped up and that was about it)
  • Sprinkle with cinnamon and brown sugar–can eyeball this part
  • Bake at 350 for 30 mins. Fill a shallow dish with water and place it one tier below the bread pudding (I don’t think this is technically a water bath…)

What I Liked:

  • It was comparable to Martha’s Bakery bread pudding which is what I guess I’m trying to copy ๐Ÿ˜€
  • Good texture! Not too egg-y OR pudding-y OR bread-y hahah
  • Crispy top (though my brother doesn’t like that)
  • Dark corn syrup was definitely a great addition, had a strong flavor/smell that came through even though I used only a tiny bit of it–great replacement for brown sugar
  • I think using bagel and naan made a HUGEEE difference. Just a theory, though. I need to try this recipe on wonderbread and pepperidge farm cinnamon swirl bread to find out!
  • I think tossing the bread pieces in butter before pouring the custard added a certain moisture to them! I’m only mentioning this b/c I’ve seriously considered omitting this step before–I wasn’t sure it did much!

What I Would Change:

  • To try and soften the top I want to cover it with foil
  • I have nooo clue if that pan of water did anything but it’s an easy step so I’ll continue to do it I suppose…
  • Add a hint of cinnamon into the custard next time
  • Needs to be a sweeter! Maybe 4.5 TBSP Sugar and 1.5 TBSP Dark Corn Syrup? Even my dad says so, and he’s the one I reduce sugar for sooo…yeahhh
  • I need to try making a chocolate bread pudding one of these days!!!!! Savory bread pudding? Pumpking? Caramel? Butterscotch? The possibilities are ENDLESS!!!
  • I need to add nuts!! I wanted to add nuts to this but I couldn’t find any…
  • Need to remember to butter the dishes intensely, bread pudding sticks to pans like glue

Other Comments:

  • This recipe is really similar to some french toast casserole/baked french toast recipes I’ve seen. I think making a casserole out of french toast is just like making cinnamon bread pudding. I used to want to try a french toast casserole recipe but I don’t even know that there’s a point anymore!
Leave a Reply

