bakerisbetter

Honey Castella Cake

Grabbed a picture of the meringue at a certain point because it was just so pretty! Also there are crumbs on the bottom of the cake OOPS lol

This was my first time with what is apparently a Japanese recipe! I don’t really know what it’s supposed to taste like BUT it turned out well ๐Ÿ™‚

Recipe Used:

What I Changed:

  • Sprinkled brown sugar on the bottom because I didn’t have turbinado sugar
  • Didn’t have honey, so I just used under 1/3 C Dark Corn Syrup

What I Liked:

  • Very, very fluffy and flavorful! Butter was not missed ๐Ÿ™‚
  • My dad enjoyed it! Not surprised, he loves pound cakes and simple loaf cakes ๐Ÿ˜› I don’t think he’s ever tried a sponge cake before, though
  • Super easy to lift out of the pan thanks to the parchment!

What I Would Change:

  • The brown sugar was completely unnecessary and left weird chunks of melted sugar on the bottom of the cake
  • I wrapped the cake in plastic wrap and stuck it in the fridge wayy too quickly–steam condensed and made the outer edges a bit soggy. In the future, just have to remember to let it cool enough.

Other Comments:

  • I think this was basically just a type of sponge cake?
  • Although the sieve step was labor intensive, I think it was worth it because I noticed a lot of egg grits were caught in the mesh. I was admittedly really confused by this step because I thought the air trapped in the meringue would be like…squeezed out I guess lol BUT apparently that’s not the case?
  • I need to try a sponge cake recipe that uses all-purpose flour to see what kind of difference it makes!
  • I might use this cake for petit fours in the future because it cut nicely!
Leave a Reply

