bakerisbetter

Little Chocolate Pac-Men

AKA Mini Boston Cream Cupcakes! I know my dad loves Boston Cream Donuts from DD but he doesn’t eat them anymore cause the cream is super high in cholesterol šŸ˜” I figured he could enjoy them in smaller bites!

The two photos were taken at different times during the day! I think it’s easier to see the pac man in the second photo. Term was coined by my bro! Haha

Recipe Used:

What I Changed:

  • Quartered everything cause I didn’t wanna make too much haha…measurements were a bit more rough than usual but it wasn’t a big deal šŸ™‚
  • Made them in a mini-muffin pan, reduced baking time to 8-10 mins
  • Reduced the sugar by a tbsp in both the cream and the cupcakes
  • Caramelized the sugar before adding the milk
  • Didn’t pull out the mixer b/c the portions were just too small! Lotsa whisking by hand
  • Didn’t have bittersweet chocolate so I just made my own ganache with about 1 oz chocolate, a tsp cream, and 1 tsp milk

What I Liked:

  • Overall they were just cute and fun and awesome šŸ™‚
  • The pastry cream smelled and tasted AMAZING thanks to the caramelized sugar…it was a bit more orange than regular pastry cream/vanilla pudding is but oh well!
  • I was reeaally happy with the consistency of the ganache…it was like drippy and melted for as long as I needed it to be and then it formed a nice little skin/took on a more solid form as it cooled! I’ve had difficulty getting the exact consistency I need with ganache in the past šŸ˜›

What I Would Change:

  • It was really hard adding the hot milk to the cupcake batter because they just wouldn’t mix…and I wound up stirring more than I wanted to/should have had to. The cupcakes still turned out ok but I need to figure out a better way to incorporate the two to make sure I don’t overmix next time!
  • Nothing really! They were adorableee

Other Comments:

  • Because there were three separate parts to this recipe…SO MANY DIRTY DISHES lol
  • Also working with caramel on spoons…have to remember that it will harden on the spoon…sigh
  • For future reference, 1 large cupcake will give enough batter for three (borderline small) mini cupcakes
  • I could just try making the cupcakes with a sponge cake recipe next time!
Leave a Reply

