bakerisbetter

Pecan Pie

No photo 😦

My brother wanted normal pecan pie!

Recipe Used:

What I Changed:

  • Used 1/4 Cup Butter, 1/4 Shortening in the crust
  • Crust used about 4 TBSP water, added 3 TBPS then 1/4 TBSP at a time
  • Used 1/2 Cup brown sugar, just under 1/4 Cup white sugar, and just under 1/4 Cup dark corn syrup
  • For the filling, I used a mixer to beat the eggs until they had increased in volume substantially (maybe 4-5 mins?). In a separate cup, I melted the butter and cooled it slightly by adding the sugars to it. Mixed those two and then added the last few ingredients.
  • Rather than mixing the filling with the pecans, I put the pecans in the crust first and just poured the liquid filling in, it’s just easier that way…
  • I used a 5-in pie dish (I think it was 5 in? Def not 9…) and only about 3/4 of the filling.
  • Baked at 300F for about 1:00 and 350F for 15 mins

What I Liked:

  • I was aiming for a pie with a pretty solid consistency, which is what I got. My brother mentioned afterwards that he prefers a slightly more liquid-y filling. He always mentions important things after I do the baking…
  • Crust was a good balance of flakiness and flavor–half and half on the shortening/butter was the way to go
  • The pie wasn’t cloyingly sweet, thank goodness!!!! That’s always the one thing that turns me off when it comes to pecan pie.
  • I didn’t have to cook the filling for this recipe, which was convenient! Though I did have to pull out the hand mixer…ugh I SERIOUSLY need an immersion blender (I think that’s what it’s called?)

What I Would Change:

  • I thought I had no choice but to make a 5 in pie because the dough wasn’t rolling out enough for the 9 in, but I think I could have rolled it out a bit more and have the crust go up the sides of the pan halfway. If I had done that, I would have even have enough dough on the edge to crimp it nicely!
  • Could have added another 1/4 Cup pecans or something, esp. if I had used a bigger dish
  • Increase baking temp and reduce baking time

Other Comments:

  • I actually made an all-butter pie crust first and started rolling it out while my mom had the pressure cooker on. Mistake! The steam and heat around the pressure cooker tooootally melted the butter in the dough while I was rolling! I couldn’t even pick it up–it was such a sticky mess! I had to make another. It turned out to be a good thing though, because afterwards my brother mentioned that he thought the pie crusts I had made in the past were a little too hard/not flaky enough. After some research, I found out that it’s easier to get the flakiness with a shortening crust. Shortening is used at the expense of flavor though, so I went half and half!
  • Remember to roll it out between two sheets of wax paper AND use plenty of flour.
  • I actually thought the crust would brown a lot and so I reduced the baking temperature (as the the reviews suggested) but it didn’t brown much at all! I think it was b/c of the shortening, I feel like I read somewhere that a shortening crust won’t brown as much as a butter crust will.
Leave a Reply

