bakerisbetter

Chicken Pad Thai

Pad Thai isn’t a baked good, of course, but I had a craving, I had the basic ingredients, and I had some of my favorite veggies lying around, so I decided to do some stir frying and blogging! I was surprised by how easy it was! Turned out delish 🙂

Recipe Used:

What I Changed:

  • Chicken instead of shrimp, and no tofu (not the biggest tofu person!)
  • No bean sprouts, peanuts, or white pepper
  • Tossed in some shiitake mushrooms, cauliflower, edamame, green beans, and an egg
  • Squeezed about half a lime over the top once it was all cooked

What I Liked:

  • SO GOOD. I really liked it, don’t know if my parents did, though 😮
  • Cauliflower, green beans, edamame = ❤
  • Loved the lime!
  • Cilantro wasn’t necessary, I’m very indifferent towards cilantro…
  • I also ❤ tamarind!

What I Would Change:

  • I feel like if I smelled it enough I could smell something remotely fish-y which I HATE. I think I was being really picky because I had to like, search for the smell but idk it just drives me nuts so ehh…maybe I can use less of the sauce in the future?
  • I added the egg towards the end, after the noodles were already in but 1) adding the egg at that point made it difficult to break it up and 2) the water content of the egg made some of the noodles clump because you can’t add too much water to rice noodles so next time I’m going to add it after cooking the garlic and onions
  • Need a bigger pan to do a more proper stir-fry!
  • I don’t think I’m the biggest fan of shiitake mushrooms anymore. They’re just too chewy and have a slightly off-putting aftertaste. I’m gonna stick to button mushrooms or portabellas!

Other Comments:

  • Yumyumyum…so happy I can make this! And it’s always nice to be able to control what goes in to a dish like pad thai, which can become so unhealthy so quickly
  • Cooking is always a nice change from baking because it’s less of a science and so much more about personal preferences. Everything is so much more flexible!
Leave a Reply

