bakerisbetter

New York Bagels

Bagels might be my favorite food in the whole wide world. Cream cheese, cream cheese and jelly, nutella, biscoff…there are just sooo many amazing spreads out there. I don’t know that I’ll ever be able to make bagels as well as this one place near my house that has like the BEST BAGELS EVER, but I can try! Haha.

Recipe Used:

What I Changed:

  • Err no real changes, I don’t think?
  • I boiled for about a minute and a half on each side cause I wasn’t sure how chewy I wanted it, exactly. I also wasn’t sure what the standards were for “chewy” and “chewier” lol

What I Liked:

  • The insides were really, really soft
  • I can now make my own bagels and freeze them for whenever I want them 😀

What I Would Change:

  • The exterior was tough, but maybe a little too tough? Does that mean I like “chewy” and not “chewier”? lol
  • Lightly greasing the outside of the dough made it difficult to roll the bagel into a perfect sphere :/ If there were deformities in the sphere, they would just slip past each other rather than smooth out into a uniform ball! I think next time I should just form the circles BEFORE the rise/the light grease? I feel like that would solve the issue without creating any other problems?? Is that solution too easy…am I not supposed to do that? D: Does it need to rise as one giant ball of dough?
  • The recipe says to only let the bagels rest for a few minutes after rolling them into spheres, but I think I’m gonna go ahead and do a good half an hour or one hour rise next time to see if it helps make them lighter

Other Comments:

  • I noticed that the exterior of the bagel was really hard at first and it became a little softer as it cooled
  • Fun fact: I like eating the outside of my bagels first. Best part first.
  • Kneading this dough was SO HARD and took SO MUCH EFFORT. Like a serious workout…I think if I did this every day I would actually build some muscle HAHAH
  • Another comment about the kneading…after I got sorta tired of kneading properly I started using a technique that I learned in the first few days of ceramics! It’s supposed to help remove air bubbles from clay! I don’t really know that there were air bubbles in my dough, but using the clay technique definitely gave my arms a break hehe
  • I LOVE CARBS
  • Also further conquered my fear of using yeast!
Leave a Reply

