bakerisbetter

Banana Bread

The almonds in the back became slanted as the bread rose 😑

Banana Bread is like, the ultimate baked good in our house. Everyone loves it! In particular, our favorite store bought Banana Bread is (of course) from Martha’s Bakery. I’ve tried like 5 or 6 different recipes so far and while none of them turned out badly, they were allΒ really different from Martha’s because they were all pretty dense and moist, whereas Martha’s is light and pretty dry. After reading the author’s comments on this recipe (where she notes that it’s light and dry, haha), I decided to give it a try! It’s definitely the closest I’ve come to Martha’s texture, but I’m also going to keep trying. Maybe I’ll start modifying this recipe on my own πŸ™‚

Recipe Used:

What I Changed:

  • I cut the recipe in half and baked in a loaf pan, but kept the bake time the same
  • Used AP flour because we didn’t have cake flour in the house
  • For future reference: 240g flour = 2 cups, 150g butter = 1.5 sticks, 150g caster sugar = 2/3 cup
  • Used corn oil because the thought of using olive oil in banana bread kind of weirded me out, idk why lol. Maybe next time I’ll try olive oil and see how it turns out πŸ™‚

What I Liked:

  • Very light compared to other banana breads
  • Very moist and tender too, which surprised me because I think separating the wet and dry ingredients is usually what allows for that, and this recipe didn’t call for that method. I guess banana just always leads to a pretty moist cake?

What I Would Change:

  • Maybe reduce the amount of butter? It felt a little greasy, which is weird considering (1) there was almost no oil in it and (2) the author had claimed it was dry…
  • Once I added the oil to the creamed butter the whole mixture started curdling…I don’t know what effect that had on the cake, if any at all. Was that what made it feel greasy? Idk but I hate curdling lol. Next time maybe add the oil in with the beaten eggs?

Other Comments:

  • I had a buuuunch of other banana bread recipes saved and now they’re all gone wahh…I guess it’s just an excuse to procrastinate and find new ones lol.
  • Fom now on I’m going to stick to recipes that cream the butter and sugar first (as opposed to just separating wet and dry ingredients), because creaming makes for a much lighter cake.
  • I also want to stick to recipes that call for little oil, because in general that makes for a drier cake, I think?
  • I wonder what would happen if I used granulated sugar in the recipe instead of caster sugar…
  • I also want to experiment with banana breads that call for ingredients like sour cream and buttermilk, I feel like that would make for some really awesome flavor combos πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

