bakerisbetter

Dark Chocolate Cheesecake

For all chocolate and cheesecake lovers out there, this recipe is heaven 🙂 I made it once before, but not with dark chocolate!

Recipe Used:

What I Changed:

  • Used Ghirardelli 60% Bittersweet Chocolate Chips and Hershey’s Unsweetened Cocoa Powder…so this stuff was reeaaalllyyy dark!
  • Didn’t follow the recipe’s suggestion for topping, the ganache I made had 3/4 Cup Chocolate Chips, 1 TBSP Butter, and 1/2 Cup Heavy Cream, and 3 TBSP Sugar
  • Made a hand whipped cream with 3 TBSP Heavy Cream and 1 TBSP Confectioner’s Sugar
  • Used Teddy Grahams for the crust! Also reduced the sugar in the crust by like, 1/2 TBSP because it just seemed like a lot
  • Didn’t use a hot water bath, but I did include a pan of boiling water in the oven right underneath the cheesecake, just so that the moisture in the oven was high and there was minimal cracking
  • To prevent overbeating from a hand mixer, I used a spoon to beat the cheesecake filling until the step where the eggs were added, when I finally used an egg beater. I was kind of forced to use the egg beater because I couldn’t use the spoon alone to make the filling smooth, the cream cheese just clumped 😛

What I Liked:

  • DARK CHOCOLATEEEEEEE…sooooo gooooddd
  • Because it was dark, the cheesecake wasn’t overwhelmingly rich and sweet, which is usually my biggest issue with cheesecake lol
  • The texture of this cheesecake is wonderful
  • I loved that the top of the cheesecake was so even!

What I Would Change:

  • Very, very little!
  • I felt sorta bad–I realized later that my brother prefers milk chocolate to dark. I should have realized, considering he usually likes his desserts to be disgustingly sweet lol (helloooo pecan pie is his favorite??) In the future, esp. if I make this for a special occasion, I should definitely use a chocolate that is less dark lol
  • I think I would increase the sugar in the ganache just bit, it was still a little too dark. Maybe another tablespoon or two, to taste?

Other Comments:

  • SOOO GOOODDDD…
  • I tried making chocolate curls to decorate this thing with 3 oz Chocolate and 1/2 TBSP Butter…major fail…I’ll try something else soon and post if it works!
  • I want to try using neufchatel cheese in a cheesecake one day! I’ve never used it and supposedly it’s infinitely healthier but just as good
  • I also want to try making a cheesecake that involves beating egg whites for volume first. I’ve tried Eileen’s Cheesecake in the city, and she uses that technique–it makes the cheesecake sooooo much lighter 🙂

Update: This is a photo of the cheesecake the first time I made it! This one wasn’t made with dark chocolate, though 😮

Leave a Reply

