bakerisbetter

Espresso Chocolate Shortbread

I’ve been meaning to make these for a while now! Not only is this cookie one of the most “gawked” recipes (lol) on foodgawker, but it’s also been tested and praised by tons of food bloggers that I love! I’m not always the biggest fan of coffee/espresso flavored things, but I do love the combination of those flavors with chocolate ❤

Recipe Used:

What I Changed:

  • Used the remaining Ghirardelli 60% Bittersweet Chips and just chopped it up, increased the powdered sugar by about 2 TBSP
  • Used Starbucks instant coffee instead of espresso powder because I just can’t seem to be able to find any…
  • Made 1/2 of what the recipe called for because 36 seemed like a biiiiiit too much

What I Liked:

  • Strong flavors, but not overwhelming. The espresso and chocolate stood out individually and complemented each other perfectly 🙂

What I Would Change:

  • Nothing really? This recipe was pretty straightforward, and the results were solid!

Other Comments:

  • I forget which blogger mentioned this…someone wrote that once I added the espresso, I had essentially made espresso buttercream! Thought that was really cute haha
  • I was afraid I had mixed too much, but in the end it turned out fine. The flour just took longer to become absorbed than I had expected 🙂
  • Starbucks coffee is so strong x.x
  • My brother requested my browned butter brown sugar shortbreads (he calls them sourdough instead of shortbread…) so I’m going to try to make that soon!
  • Makes for a great tea cookie!
Leave a Reply

