bakerisbetter

Raspberry Cheesecake

Image

A plain cheesecake with a sour cream and raspberry topping!

Recipe Used:

What I Changed:

Cheesecake

  • 2 pounds of cream cheese was wayyy too much for my mixer so I had to do the first few steps by hand…that’s fine though because it prevented me from overbeating my filling/creating cracks!
  • Reduced sugar to about 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons
  • Used honey graham crackers and reduced sugar in crust to 1 tablespoon
  • Didn’t let it cool in the oven, simply ran a wet knife along the edge as soon as I took it out
  • Made sure to rotate often so that the top browned evenly…I knew it would be covered by the sour cream but I guess I’m a little ocd haha

Sour Cream Topping

  • Did both of the toppings as rough estimates, without really sticking to the recipe. Used about 1 1/3 cups sour cream…basically whatever was left in the 16oz container and then 1/4 cup powdered sugar. Halved the vanilla extract to 1/2 teaspoon

Raspberry Sauce

  • In terms of ingredients, like I said I did this all very roughly so I used 1/4 cup boiling water, 1/4 cup sugar, 5 or so ounces of raspberries, PLUS approooximately 1/2 teaspoon of cornstarch? I added the cornstarch in increments to make sure I didn’t add too much…I’ve had some awful cornstarch experiences!
  • I basically mashed everything up and strained. To get it to thicken, I kept re-boiling in the microwave in 30 second increments

What I Liked:

  • Amount of sugar was perfect
  • NO CRACKS (given that I used a water bath too)
  • Overall, tasted great and looked beautiful!

What I Would Change:

  • Use a mixer next time. Even though beating by hand at first probably helped prevent cracks…it’s just too much work. It’s soooo hard to get rid of cream cheese lumps!
  • Maybe add a liiittle more cornstarch so that the sauce gels up a bit more? When transporting the cheesecake in the car, the sauce wound up running all over the top because it was impossible to hold the cheesecake perfectly flat and steady 😦

Other Comments:

  • Running a knife along the edge of a cheesecake when it first comes out of the oven works wonders, but it’s important to make sure that the knife is slightly wet! Otherwise, the knife pulls on the side of cheesecake a bit too much and tears the edges
  • I now have a go-to plain cheesecake recipe!
  • It felt SO GOOD to be baking again 🙂
  • This morning, I made pancakes again for the first time in a LONG time!!! Exciting
Leave a Reply

