bakerisbetter

Crème Brûlée and My Mini Springform Pan!

Image

Image

Recipe Used:

What I Changed:

  • Made sure to bring the eggs to room temperature to try and minimize curdling
  • Poured the mixture through a fine strainer to ensure a smooth texture
  • Increased the baking time by a lot because I split the mixture into two bowls instead of four. One bowl had a lot more than the other–the smaller one I baked for about 40 minutes, the bigger one I baked for about 90 minutes.
  • I broiled one and I tried to use my dad’s torch (he brought it from work haha) on the other…I’m not sure which one I like better…the torched one is above and the broiler one is below.
  • I used confectioner’s sugar for the top!

Image

You can still see the sugar!

What I Liked:

  • SO smooth and creamy 🙂
  • REALLY easy to make
  • Great to make ahead of time (but torch on the spot because otherwise the sugar melts into the custard and it’s not as crispy!)
  • Perfect amount of sugar/sweetness
  • I can’t imagine that there’s anything to dislike about this dessert! I’m not a big custard person myself but even I liked it!

Image

Mid-torching!

What I Would Change:

  • Use the torch instead of the broiler because the torch gives more control, but use a thicker layer of sugar to minimize burning and create a more solid crust…I want to find a way to make this crust really pretty! I don’t like the way it looks right now…
  • Make sure to pat down any condensation on top of the crème brûlée before torching, it’s supposed to help the browning or something…but I forgot to do it haha

Other Comments:

  • On a completely unrelated note, I BOUGHT A MINI SPRINGFORM PAN TODAY AND I AM SOOOO EXCITED. I’ve wanted a mini one for so long! Now I can make layer cakes and cheesecakes on a smaller scale!

Image

Leave a Reply

