bakerisbetter

The New York Times Chocolate Chip Cookie

photo-12

Ooey, Gooey, and absolutely beautiful šŸ™‚ Supposedly one of THE best chocolate chip cookie recipes out there!

Recipes Used:

What I Changed:

  • I didn’t realize the Ghirardelli only had 10oz. of chips in a bag…the recipe called for 20oz. (which by the way is a TON) so I just used 5oz. of Nestle mini semi-sweet chips that I had lying around…there was plenty of chocolate in this cookie but I guess I can see it going up to 20oz.
  • Omitted the salt sprinkled on top
  • Left out 1/4 cup of the light brown sugar (just to reduce it…there was SO MUCH SUGAR)
  • Let it rest for about 40 hours
  • Made 27 cookies…the first batch I did was a teensy bit too small compared to the later batches
  • Creamed the butter and sugar together for a realllllyyy long time

photo-14

What I Liked:

  • As expected, crispy on the outside, moist and chewy on the inside!
  • I was scared the 60% cocoa would be too bitter but it turned out to be perfect thanks to the two other sugars in this cookie šŸ˜›
  • Ghirardelli chocolate = ā¤
  • Has stayed fresh for two days! (so far)

What I Would Change:

photo-13

Other Comments:

  • Maybe one day I will try following multiple recipes and doing a taste test myself to see if this cookie recipe really is the best!
  • I was talking to some of my friends about it afterwards…thought it was funny that I used bread flour and cake flour, but no cookie flour! Haha
  • I actually experimented a bit with the baking pans…the aluminum foil trays I used allowed for a greater contrast in browning (as in, the edges turned out darker than the centers) than the light baking sheet I used, which I liked! Didn’t try using the dark baking sheet I have
  • Also, the center rack on the oven cooks INFINITELY faster than the top rack because it’s closer to the source of the heat…frustrating…
  • I like that cookies are so easy to transport!
One Comment on “The New York Times Chocolate Chip Cookie”

  1. elisebakes says:

    They look amazing!


Leave a Reply

