bakerisbetter

Sour Cream Coffee Cake

photo-19

Coffee Cakes and Pound Cakes are my dad’s favorites 🙂

Recipes Used:

What I Changed:

  • Had to mix by hand after the first addition of flour because there was just too much batter.
  • Had to microwave the butter for 10 seconds because I decided to make this really last minute and I didn’t want to wait for it to come to room temperature. It worked perfectly! I sliced the butter into…16ths? lol. I could have done it for 8-9 seconds though, I think it was just a biiiit too soft.
  • I baked for about 35 minutes, it was definitely NOT done at 30 minutes. I wish I had checked at 32 or 33 minutes though. I was really paranoid that it would dry out quickly. It’s been fine so far, though!
  • Added about 1/4 cup finely chopped almonds rather than pecans or walnuts. Couldn’t really taste it…

What I Liked:

  • I love the smell of cinnamon in the house…
  • The texture was fantastic!

photo-20

What I Would Change:

  • I would want to add vanilla to the batter and not just the cinnamon mixture
  • I wish there were a way to make this cake a little bit more moist.

Comparable Recipes:

Other Comments:

  • King Arthur Flour Recipes are usually pretty reliable I think. Their brownie recipe is amazingggg 🙂
  • I don’t really like the way Ina Garten bakes (as in, her attention to detail, overmixing, etc.) so I don’t trust her recipes…Also maple syrup + confectioner’s sugar?? Wayyyyy too sweet ew.
  • I’ve been wanting to try this recipe for some time now! I’ve made a sour cream pound cake before and it turned out fantastic!
  • I wish I had gotten a photo of the bottom of the cake (there was more cinnamon topping there) but my brother was too impatient. Sigh.

photo-17

Leave a Reply

