bakerisbetter

Buttermilk Banana Cake

photo-28

Exploring the effects of different types of dairy on Banana Bread 🙂

Recipes Used:

What I Changed:

  • After reading reviews, I reduced the sugar to 1 1/8 cups (huge reduction, I know!). It was plenty sweet still, haha
  • I was ALMOST going to change the temperature because it just seemed too low but…turns out 275 for one hour was perfect!
  • Added 1 teaspoon lemon juice instead of 2
  • Omitted the vanilla extract because I didn’t have any at home 😦 My bottle is at school still! That’s okay, it just smelled more like banana than vanilla in the house afterwards, haha
  • I wrapped it in plastic wrap and stuck it in the fridge, not the freezer. Don’t reaaaallly know how much that did but I guess I’ll keep doing it to be safe (and maybe try it with other cakes too). After all, there’s no downside?

photo-29

You can see my shadow!

What I Liked:

  • Very, very moist!
  • Stronger banana flavor than the yogurt banana cake
  • Makes for a nice, relatively sturdy layer thanks to all that creaming. Slices like a charm and comes out of a buttered/floured pan very easily. This would be great as a layer cake at a party with a little bit of malted milk frosting and/or cream cheese frosting 😮
  • Because I baked in a 9 x 13 as opposed to (multiple) loaf pans, the center baked up perfectly! I need to start making these banana cakes in wide pans from now on, loaf pans are just too unreliable for my tastes. The center always takes forever to cook and the outside gets dry!

What I Would Change:

  • No clue…solid recipe for sure. I don’t think I necessarily had a strong preference between this one and the yogurt one…

Comparable Recipes:

Other Comments:

  • I don’t think there is any technical difference between a banana cake and banana bread. I’ve seen banana bread recipes that call for both the wet/dry method and the creaming method. I guess I usually think of the creaming method as leading to a more cake-like texture/build, but I guess I’m alone in thinking that technique could automatically lead to a cake…?
  • I had some malted milk frosting leftover in the fridge, actually. I wanted to pipe it on top of the squares so that I would have a picture of the frosting but a) I’m too lazy and b) my piping supplies are also at school 😦
  • I always forget how much batter a 9 x 13 cake leads to!
  • In totally unrelated news…I got another set (multiple sets?) of measuring spoons! This one will probably stay at home. It’s kinda heavy, tbh…AND there’s no 1/2 tablespoon, what?! Buuut it’s really pretty! Stainless steel? I think? My favorite part is the smallest set, hopefully this photo will reveal why…hahah baking is a science, right?

photo-30

Leave a Reply

