bakerisbetter

Cinnamon Swirl Bread

photo 3 photo 1

The top image is from a loaf that I left to rise in the fridge overnight while the bottom is from a bun that I made the night before to give the bread a test run πŸ™‚

Recipes Used:

What I Changed:

  • The bun had two kneads/rests, but the big loaf had three. After the loaf’s third knead, I went ahead and sprinkled some light brown sugar&powdered cinnamon on the flattened dough (eyeballed it), rolled it up, and left it in the fridge to rise overnight so that it would be ready to go in the oven in the morning without any rests πŸ™‚
  • I forgot to warm the milk before adding it to the dough but I doubt it made much of a difference haha
  • Baked the bun for 14 minutes (could have used another minute or two) and the loaf for 37 minutes. I wasn’t very precise with the rise times, though. They always seems to take longer than the suggested times when I work with yeast…probably has something to do with the humidity/warmth (as in, the house isn’t warm enough)? I find that the rise is significantly faster when the dough rests under light or when it is somewhat close to the stovetop (turned on, of course) πŸ™‚
  • For the wash on top, I kind of just mixed the beaten egg and miniscule pieces of butter together. I also had to cover it with foil after about 15 minutes–it gets dark pretty quickly!

What I Liked:

  • SO SOFT AND FLUFFY!!! I tried this “water roux” method that has been on my bucket list for a while. From what I’ve read, it’s a technique used in a lot of Asian bakeries. It involves cooking and therefore gelatinizing the starches in the flour BEFORE the bread goes into the oven. Apparently, the gelatinized starch retains moisture better than regular starch!
  • The cinnamon swirl was the perfect addition–eyeballing it worked really well! No huge excess of cinnamon/brown sugar mixture left over like the last time I tried to make a cinnamon sugar baked good…
  • Having the loaf ready to go in the morning was SO convenient! I simultaneously pre-heated the oven and let the dough sit at room temperature for 15 minutes, and then I just popped it in!

What I Would Change:

  • I might try adding nuts or raisins in the future. OR NUTELLA. Or Biscoff omg.
  • This was actually a really labor-intensive recipe because the dough keeeeept rising up on the kneading hooks so I had to stop it like…every thirty seconds to pull it back down. It took a good 30-45 minutes (and I probably should have/could have done it more) for everything to come together. I need to get a bread maker…that said, the labor isss part of what I love about baking πŸ™‚

Other Comments:

  • I’m really, really excited that I now have such a versatile go-to bread recipe πŸ™‚
  • If it gets stale…FRENCH TOAST!! I wonder how long it will stay soft…
  • I think I’ve finally gotten over my traumatic experience with yeast!!
Leave a Reply

