bakerisbetter

Apple Yogurt Cake

photo 1 (2) photo 4 (1)

The little brown specks are bits of cinnamon and brown sugar, not raisins!! Not that I really have anything against raisins…

Recipes Used:

What I Changed:

  • Lots! First, I split the batter into two pans because I figured we could give the second one to cousins/grandparents/my brother/someone else. One 9-inch cake is pleeenty to keep me and my parents going for a few days. After those few days, whatever remains usually begins to turn stale ๐Ÿ˜› Plus, whenever my parents like something that I make, they always seem to tell me I should have made another one to give away
  • Baked for 35-40 minutes…though a toothpick seemed to come out clean at 30 minutes? After reading some of the comments I was really afraid the cake would come out kind of soggy so I decided to give it an extra five minutes or so to be safe
  • Used low-fat plain yogurt because that’s the kind my mom keeps on hand
  • I used about 2.5 cups of apples (so I guess 20 oz. instead of 24 oz. as the recipe stated?)
  • I used a lime because we didn’t have lemons, and only half instead of the whole thing because the last time I used lemon in a dessert (it was a cheesecake) it was WAYYY too strong
  • Omitted the nutmeg because I once used a tiiiiny bit of nutmeg in a dessert and my dad could taste it and he didn’t seem to like it ๐Ÿ˜ฎ
  • I chopped the apples into reaaallly small pieces (definitely smaller than they appeared in the picture). I wanted the cake part of the apple cake to stand out more than the apples haha…but I think I overdid this a bit
  • Substituted corn oil for olive oil because that’s all we had in the pantry–not sure I can detect those kinds of things anyway?
  • Didn’t add vanilla extract because apparently it’s at school and I realized too late ๐Ÿ˜ฆ BUT that’s okay because the cinnamon, apple, and brown sugar made this cake incredibly aromatic ๐Ÿ™‚
  • Reduced the granulated sugar by about a 1/4 cup (I’m sure I’ve mentioned this in a previous post but I don’t like super sweet desserts PLUS my family is super diabetic lol)
  • For the cinnamon-brown sugar-butter mixture, I had a little bit left over. Also I probably added 1/4 cup brown sugar instead of 1/2. Again, I usually don’t like to overwhelm cakes with these kinds of super sweet toppings and things
  • I mixed the wet and dry ingredients in separate bowls and THEN combined in order to minimize the stirring–I figured it would keep the cake tender ๐Ÿ™‚
  • I used whatever apples we had in the house…some Gala, some McIntosh, some Red Delicious

What I Liked:

  • Smelled amaaazing!
  • I couldn’t quiiitee taste the lime but I feel like it helped brighten up this cake/keep it very light in a subtle way, which definitely worked for me ๐Ÿ™‚
  • Really good everyday dessert! Light, sweet but not too sweet, moist…
  • I really like baking with apples! Cooked apples in general are just really good haha
  • This cake was really easy to remove from the pan! In fact, it sort of pulled away from the sides as it cooled–came right out ๐Ÿ™‚
  • Looks rustic, no?? Haha
  • Mom and pop-approved ๐Ÿ™‚ (Also my parents really liked the cinnamon swirl bread from the other day!!)
  • No mixer required = relatively easy cleanup!

What I Would Change:

  • The cake actually tasted a tiiiiny bit greasy to me. There really wasn’t much oil and the yogurt was low-fat so it must have come from the butter being concentrated in the cinnamon-brown sugar-butter mixture? I think next time I’ll add less butter there?
  • Next time, I’ll also try adding more apples or making the apple chunks slightly bigger. You could definitely taste the apple but I think I maybe overdid the whole “emphasizing the cake” thing lol (referencing one of the changes I made). It could have used bigger apple chunks haha
  • As the recipe stated, I stirred the yogurt and therefore mixed in the whey before adding both to the batter, but after reading the comments about the cake being too soggy maybe I shouldn’t have done that? Thankfully, my cake didn’t turn out soggy ๐Ÿ™‚
  • I need to cover the pan with foil sooner to prevent the browning! No? It looks a little too brown to me…I covered it at around 20 minutes, but I think I could have just covered it after 10 minutes. I usually avoid covering it before it goes in the oven because then the wet batter sticks to the foil as it rises….Also I need to read up on how/why covering it with foil prevents the browning…
  • Just to experiment a bit more, I’m considering adding orange juice (and orange zest!) instead of lemon/lime

Comparable Recipes:

Other Comments:

  • I feel like this is a big step in the direction of baking healthy for my parents (which I have admittedly been pretty terrible about thus far lol)!!
  • Reminder to self to write about the Maillard Reaction at some point…we veeeery vaguely learned about it in some class a few weeks ago (I wish I could remember which one…biochem???) and I got really excited lol
  • I had to ask my mom to peel the apples cause I stink at peeling fruits lol. Literally half the fruit is gone by the time I’m done peeling. Like, where did my fruit go?!
Leave a Reply

