bakerisbetter

Cinnamon Raisin Bread and a Cinnamon Kringle!

photo 1 (3)photo 3 (4)

So I went a little nuts with the cinnamon this break ๐Ÿ™‚ I thought it would be a good idea to try a different recipe for the dough and compare the two cinnamon swirl loaves!

Recipes Used:

What I Changed:

photo 4 (2)

The inside of the Kringle! The first picture showed only the back of the Kringle…the other side just kind of tapered off ๐Ÿ˜›

  • Baked the small Kringle for 30 minutes and the big loaf for 40-45ย minutes
  • I let the dough rise overnight…the big loaf got a little toooo big ๐Ÿ˜ก
  • Covered the big loaf after 15 minutes to prevent browning
  • When deciding which end of the dough I should start rolling in from…I realized that it made more sense to have the end with a smaller brown sugar-cinnamon mixture:dough ratio on the inside. Usually the inside stays softer while the outside gets a bit more dry, so I prefer to have more flavor where the dry parts are to compensate ๐Ÿ˜›
  • Added raisins! I didn’t forget to pre-soak the raisins in water, thankfully! (Made that mistake before and the raisins absorbed nearly all the moisture from the batter!!)
  • I was afraid the raisins would all pop out as I tried to roll up the bread, but after a light press into the dough that fear turned out to be unwarranted!
  • Eyeballed the brown sugar-cinnamon mixture again. Also didn’t use butter because there was already so much butter in the dough…ay the Pioneer Woman’s recipes are too much like Paula Deen’s–butter overload! The Pioneer Woman even has a recipe that entails literally rubbing two sticks of butter onto bread. But actually:ย http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2010/09/the-bread/
  • I didn’t want to open the second packet of yeast in order to take out .25 tsp yeast so I just used 2..25 tsp yeast lol
  • Used bread flour and not all-purpose, especially after reading another blog’s findings that bread flour prevents separation of the layers! (See pinchofyum link below)
  • Used 4 tbsp sugar instead of 1/3 cup

What I Liked:

  • Again, cinnamon-flavored baked goods make the house smell amazing first thing in the morning ๐Ÿ™‚
  • This bread also had a MUCH thicker/harder crust!! In homemade breads, I like crust (especially fresh out of the oven!!), so it was fine by me. That said, I feel like if I were giving the loaf as a gift or something to grandparents/aunts/uncles the soft crust would be better.
  • This dough was DEFINITELY more buttery than the last one haha

What I Would Change:

  • For the kringle…I definitely need to start with a thinner layer before rolling in order to be able to see more distinct layers in the finished product

Comparable Recipes:

Other Comments:

  • This bread had a stronger yeast/bread flavor (if you’ve had sourdough you might know what I’m talking about), and I’m not entireeeely sure whether I liked that flavor or not. I think in general I do, but maybe not so much in my cinnamon swirl bread…I feel like gelatinizing the flour in the other recipe must have gotten rid of some of that flavor. I know I’ve read that a longer rest develops the flavor more but the two loaves were left to rest for similar times so that can’t be it…
  • Because this dough had a higher moisture content, the sugar kept dissolving into the dough and I had a harder time keeping track of how much I added ๐Ÿ˜ก This swirl in this loaf was not only more pervasive in this loaf, it was also sweeter. Thus, the bread was significantly sweeter in general.
  • I wanted to turn the whole thing into a kringle but I had a feeling that the kringle could turn out a bit too dry so I thought I would start by making a mini-kringle!
  • Even though this dough, like the last one, kept rising up the dough hooks on the mixer, I wanted to say that it was easier to mix. BUT on second thought I probably just found it easier because it was my second time doing it haha. I remember the first time I tried to make cookies from scratch and I had to cream together butter and sugar…omg what a nightmare…
  • More for my own reference…yeast findings
    • Dough that has been kneaded a bit too much is SO hard to roll out! (Read: the mini kringle, assembled from bits of the big loaf as I rolled it out, was SO hard to roll out! haha)
    • To see when the first rise is done…apparently I can indent the dough with two fingers and see whether the indent stays. If it does, then the dough is ready!
    • Apparently adding cinnamon into the dough will slow the rise? Good to know for future reference ๐Ÿ˜›
    • When the bread is done, tapping the outside should lead to a hollow sound! Haha
    • http://www.kingarthurflour.com/tips/yeast-dough-tips.html
  • I debated making mini monkey breads…I really like pull apart loaves…but I thought I’d give these two a try first ๐Ÿ™‚
  • The hardest part is always letting the bread cool for 15 minutes or so before I cut into it, or else the layers kind of just mesh together…
Leave a Reply

