bakerisbetter

Almond Macaroon Torte with a Coffee Pudding filling and a Whipped Chocolate Ganache frosting

photo 1photo 2

Hands down the best thing I have ever made.

Recipes Used:

What I Changed:

Torte

  • I made a half-batch of the torte because it was my first time working with a combination of meringue and nut flour–I figured it would be good to give the recipe a test run!
  • Baked for 23 minutes, just as the recipe stated πŸ™‚
  • Reduced the sugar–left out the 1.5 tablespoons that I would have added separately to the meringue. Instead, I just took out 1.5 tablespoons from the almond flour-sugar-salt mixture (before they were all mixed together, of course). I was a little worried that reducing the sugar would mess with the meringue’s texture a bit too much, but I think it turned out fine? Haha. I’m glad I reduced it, even if only a little. Meringues are so gross when they’re too sweet πŸ˜›

Filling

  • A full batch left me with extra pudding, but I would rather have a little bit left over than fall short πŸ˜›
  • Used white sugar instead of brown because I didn’t have any on hand (been making a lot of cinnamon-brown sugar things, apparently…haha)
  • Reduced the sugar by juuuuuust a smidge
  • Strained the pudding to get rid of cornstarch lumps (I’ve never been able to make a pudding without having to strain out lumps :/)
  • Thankfully straining the pudding saved me a lot of time in that I didn’t have to wait as long for the pudding to cool
  • Used 3/4 cup 2% Milk and 3/4 cup Whole Milk because there was no WAY I was about to make pudding with heavy cream for my family lol. Also, I feel like any more heavy cream (there’s a lot in the frosting) would have made this dessert wayyy too rich :/
  • I kind of just eyeballed the cook time…I figured that changing the dairy would significantly change the times, so I just waited until the pudding could coat the back of a metal spoon πŸ˜›

Frosting

  • I didn’t use the frosting recipe from smitten kitchen because all of the comments about the frosting getting hard after a few days or even seizing as it was being made (you can google this if you’ve never seen it before haha)
  • For Β the frosting–melted Hershey’s Special Dark Chips, .5 cups, in .5 cups heated heavy cream. Waited for it to cool (important step, as I’ve learned the hard way…) then whipped it up πŸ™‚

What I Liked:

  • The meringue was really sweet on it’s own but the pudding and ganache balanced out the sweetness–reducing the sugar in the pudding was a good choice, and going with Hershey’s Special Dark was a good choice as well. Ghirardelli’s Dark Chocolates would have been too bitter, I think. I’ve definitely made the mistake of going with Ghirardelli Dark before…
  • I love how ganache changes in texture once it’s whipped πŸ™‚ I could say the same about egg whites, too!

What I Would Change:

  • Right after I made the coffee pudding, my mom suggested adding malted milk to the dessert somehow. Dangit. I was pretty sure that if I tried to do coffee, chocolate, and malted milk, the flavors would be a little too scattered. But I LOVE the flavor of malted milk, and I actually have a malted milk pudding recipe on my bucket list! I can’t believe I forgot about it! I guess I was just really hung up on the idea of working with coffee (I’ve never actually made anything coffee-flavored, see “other comments.” Ah, well. I’m glad I got to experiment with new flavors πŸ™‚ Malted milk pudding next time!
  • I could probably reduce the cornflour in the pudding by a smidge

Comparable Recipes:

Other Comments:

  • Eeeeverything worked in this dessert. The sweetness, the flavors, the textures. Even the decorative almonds played a role in bringing the textures together!
  • The layers definitely became a bit softer after a few hours but retained their chewiness and outer crunch overall πŸ™‚
  • Even my pops was a bit wowed with this dessert πŸ™‚ Also, he seemed to be intrigued by the way I frosted it. He realized I was working with my spatula in a way that echoed techniques used in taking dental molds/impressions…I guess he’s starting to see what the two things have in common? πŸ™‚
  • I looove working with meringues! And I looooove eating meringues πŸ™‚
  • Love how clean the slices are!! IT’S SUCH A PRETTY DESSERT.
  • If you look closely at the recipe…I basically made a giant macaron, haha. I like that I got exposure to working with macaron batter! Hopefully that means I won’t fail miserably the first time I bake real macarons πŸ˜›
  • This was actually my first time making something coffee-flavored! I’ve used instant coffee crystals in certain chocolate cakes to enhance the flavor of the chocolate, but I’ve never made tiramisu or any type of coffee buttercream. I’d say it was a solid choice!
  • The trimmed edges of the meringues = BEST SNACK FOOD EVERS
  • Would you judge me if I ate the whole thing?
Leave a Reply

