bakerisbetter

Pecan Pie

photo 4 photo 1 (1)

I didn’t get to try this, unfortunately 😦 Made it for my bro to take to work!

Recipes Used:

What I Changed:

Crust

  • I made 1.5 batches of the crust recipe because I felt like I wasn’t able to roll out the dough enough last time–I had just enough this time!
  • I made the same changes that I did last time–half butter, half shortening
  • Used about 4.5 TBSP water for the 1.5 batches
  • Blended the butter and flour together in a food processor, which made things super easy 🙂
  • Chilled overnight after rolling it out between one piece of plastic wrap and one piece of parchment paper (easier to roll out through plastic wrap, as I’ve found

Filling

  • Whipped the eggs to approximately three times their normal volume, haha
  • Separate melted the butter, mixed in the sugar, and let it sit so that the sugar absorbed the butter a bit. As I’ve learned from making brownies, if you let the butter absorb the sugar a bit and allow it to melt together, you form a clearer sugary “crust” on your baked good. I considered reheating, but I didn’t want to wait for the sugar-butter mixture to cool (which I would have to do in order to prevent it from cooking the eggs once I combined the two mixtures (sugar-butter and whipped eggs)
  • Used evaporated milk because we were out of whole and I didn’t want to use skim lol. Not really sure what the effect would be if I left it out…I’m sure the small amount of flour suffices as a thickening agent but who knows what this tiny amount of milk does…
  • Used 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup white sugar, 1/4 cup Lyle’s Golden Syrup
  • Used about 1.5-2 cups pecans–the ones inside were chopped roughly
  • Baked 40 minutes at 350 and 20 minutes at 300, appeared to be set! Covered with foil for the last twenty minutes

What I Liked:

  • LOVE that this recipe doesn’t require corn syrup. Bleh

What I Would Change:

  • Honestly it’s really hard to say given that I didn’t try it myself. Boo 😦
  • My brother said it was a little dry when he tried it, but he also ate it almost a week later (he didn’t get the chance to pick it up from our house soon enough) so maybe next time I’ll just keep in mind that he prefers it to be a little runny when trying to gauge the proper baking time

Other Comments:

  • Some part of me wants to try other pecan pie recipes…butttt I’m feeling too lazy to look up other pecan pie recipes, especially considering it’s not really one of my favorite desserts
Leave a Reply

