bakerisbetter

Malted Milk Cupcakes with a Malted Milk Swiss Meringue Buttercream


photo 1 (2) photo 4 photo 1 (1)Malted milk is one of my favorite flavors!

Recipes Used:

Cupcake

Swiss Meringue Buttercream

Pouring Sauce

Truffle

  • Eyeballed cream cheese and crushed oreos–about 15 cookies and 1/3 block cream cheese

What I Changed:

Cupcake

  • We only had salted butter so I just eyeballed the salt to add little less than what was called for
  • Baked 18 minutes
  • Added the truffle before I put the cupcakes in the oven–the batter was thick enough to support the truffle and prevent it from sinking to the bottom

Swiss Meringue Buttercream

  • Had about 3 Tbsp of butter leftover–the buttercream was plenty fluffy and had reached its full volume, as far as I could see
  • Heated the egg whites and sugar until I couldn’t feel any granulated sugar between my fingers
  • Omitted the chocolate because I didn’t want to add in any other flavors; I wanted to stick with vanilla malt. I was originally going to do a black and white swirl (recipe in the comparable recipes section) but I thought it would add too many flavors–I already added a flavor that didn’t match as perfectly as I would have liked it to when I added in the oreo truffles
  • Had to beat for foreeeeever to get to stiff peaks
  • Omitted the crushed whoppers–I wanted a smooth frosting

Chocolate Pouring Sauce

  • Made a half batch
  • Used about 2 tablespoons of water–I was really worried about the idea of adding water since I’ve never heard of adding water to a ganache, but it really helped me get the consistency I needed!
  • Used granulated sugar and mixed it with the hot heavy cream to ensure that it was dissolved

What I Liked:

Cupcake

  • Sweetness of the cupcake was spot on!
  • This cupcake was WAY more dense than the chocolate buttermilk cupcakes that I’m so used to making. At first I thought the cupcake was a little spongy, but I realized it was simply the density and fine crumb of the cupcake that was making me think that–I think the cake flour really helps prevent a spongy texture from forming

Swiss Meringue Buttercream

  • Like a malted milk cloud–creamy, light, not overly sweet 🙂
  • It didn’t curdle!

What I Would Change:

  • I don’t think the flavor of the oreo truffle was a good match for the malted milk, I wish I had left it out or used a different filling
  • The frosting wasn’t too sweet, but I could have reduced the sugar slightly if I wanted to

Comparable Recipes:

Other Comments:

  • I was really afraid of adding warm water to the chocolate because I’ve never really done that before but it worked really well in terms of thinning out the sauce! The chocolate didn’t seize at all. I did a test run with the pouring sauce without the water (photo below) and it didn’t really work lol. In fact I added that sauce when it was still a little too warm so it melted the frosting a little OOPS.
  • I wanted to do an extra swirl on top of the syrup because I’ve seen that before in some designs on bakersroyale but it was too slippery when I tried piping…I’m not sure whether letting it set would really make a difference because the addition water makes it so that the sauce never hardens the way ganache does :/

photo 2 (1)

The pouring sauce without water is in the middle, and the “extra swirl” design is on the right…every failure is delicious 🙂

 

One Comment on “Malted Milk Cupcakes with a Malted Milk Swiss Meringue Buttercream”


Leave a Reply

