bakerisbetter

Corn Flour Pancakes

photo 4 (2)More cornflour recipes! I feel like this one is a keeper–I think I’ll made a big batch of the dry ingredients for my mom 🙂 They were also very, very filling! Also, sorry for being careless about photos…I’ll work on that lol

Recipes Used:

What I Changed:

  • Quartered the recipe (thankfully the proportions were pretty easy to maintain!)
  • Instead of 1/4 cup sugar, I used 1/8 cup sugar and 1/8 cup splenda–worked like a charm!

What I Liked:

  • The corn flavor really came through again! Although it’s not quite cornbread, I think anyone who likes cornbread would like this recipe for its flavor. Plus, when made fresh with some melted butter on top, they’re SO good!
  • Sweet but not too sweet, just the way I like it 🙂
  • The good think about this recipe is that it doesn’t rely on the reaction between baking soda and buttermilk as a leavener so I can mix the batter and store leftovers!

What I Would Change:

  • Try adding fresh corn!
  • Try the buttermilk recipe below 🙂
  • Maybe increase the milk slightly, just to give it more moisture–I think my dad found them too dry

Comparable Recipes:

Other Comments:

  • These aren’t as light and fluffy as the buttermilk pancakes I make because the only leavener is the baking powder
  • They’re also not as tender due to the lack of fat–I’m sure I could even make these using 2% milk. I think the reason it works out is because again, they’re very hearty/filling and flavorful.
  • I also think that, more specifically, the lack of fat/tenderness and, likewise, the more “dry” quality of these pancakes in comparison to buttermilk pancakes turns out okay because these are pancakes as opposed to some type of bread/cornbread. Pancakes are usually eaten right after they’re cooked, so these tend to stay soft and somewhat moist for the short time interval between cooking and consumption. And that works out because, as mentioned before, this batter can be stored for a much longer period of time than buttermilk pancake batter can be stored!! I feel like I’m going in circles in thought but it all makes sense I promise!
  • I really should just try making tamales with this flour…
Leave a Reply

