bakerisbetter

Cornbread Sponge Cake

photo 2 (3)I need to use up the cornflour (NOT cornstarch) I have left over from one time when I made a sweet corn pudding…the cake is on the bottom, and the rolls are actually my second batch (after being frozen for one night) of the hawaiian sweet rolls (no egg wash)!

Recipes Used:

What I Changed:

  • Nothing! I kind of wanted to try the recipe listed in the comparable recipes section of this post BUT I was too lazy. This recipe was sooo straightforward
  • Also note that vanilla extract is an ingredient in the directions but not in the ingredient list
  • I wet my fingers and smoothed the top with a little water, DEFINITELY a good idea

What I Liked:

  • This was definitely a healthy recipe in my mind, considering there was no oil or butter
  • I actually LOVED the flavor that the cornflour imparted (it was similar to that of cornbread but more…corn-y lol), and I think I will soon try to make cornflour pancakes…

What I Would Change:

  • The cake DEFINITELY needs more moisture…maybe from milk, maybe from oil or butter, I’m not sure…I guess I’ll start out by trying the recipe below!
  • I would also want to beat the egg whites and yolks separately in the future…I can’t quite get the full volume when I beat them together. I guess I could whip the yolks, add the cornflour and some other liquid, and separately whip the whites plus sugar?

Comparable Recipes:

Other Comments:

  • Things I really like about the process of having to use up a certain ingredient–it really forces you to a) explore the different techniques, ingredients, and flavors out there in the baking world b) get creative with your own baking attempts!
  • The cornflour absorbs liquid like a sponge 😮
Leave a Reply

