bakerisbetter

Vanilla Pudding with Whipped Cream


photo 4 (3) photo 2 (4)1. I’ve totally been cheating on the whole “baking” thing lately (as in, I’ve been cooking more than I’ve been baking)…oops. 2. I promised pretty pictures, didn’t I??!

Recipes Used:

Pudding

Whipped Cream–kinda just made it up based on the directions on the back of the “Whip It” Stabilizer–I bought it ages ago and wanted to see if it would work!

  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • ~1 tsp stabilizer
  • 1/2 tsp powdered sugar

What I Changed:

Pudding

  • Halved the pudding recipe
  • Instead of 1/4 cup sugar, I used 1/8 cup sugar and 1/8 cup splenda. I’m getting good at this whole picking healthier recipes thing! It was my goal last summer or something to work on that aaaand it never really happened lol. But this recipe really isn’t bad at all! I’m sure it could work with low-fat milks as well!
  • Following the comments–I slowly whisked the cold milk into a mixture of sugar/splenda, salt, and cornstarch–it made for such a smooth texture! Reminded me of the way you need to like…pre-fold in (I like making up these instructions) a small amount of egg whites into whatever batter you are trying to incorporate the whites into
  • Heated the pudding until it coated the back of a metal spoon (took 5-7 mins of constant whisking). Definitely did not let it boil. It was on the runnier side for a pudding but I think I kinda prefer that over a more gelled (gellied?) pudding
  • I added a cinnamon stick to the milk as it was cooking–gave a lovely, subtle smell/flavor to the pudding!

What I Liked:

Pudding

  • The texture of the pudding was perfect!!!
  • Pudding is delish warm orrrr cold
  • This was a (relatively) healthy dessert
  • I love the “skin” of pudding and cocoa–it was satisfying to break into it haha. Also, because I covered it with cocoa powder, the skin didn’t negatively affect the appearance of the pudding–I know sometimes it layers/tears and looks ugly. It held up pretty well as a I layered the powder on top, actually. I was able to spread it gently with the back of a spoon.

photo 5 (4)

The broken skin!

Whipped Cream

  • The whipped cream stabilizer seemed to be working!
  • Light as a feather 🙂 Complemented the pudding perfectly–I feel like the bite into the pudding would have felt less complete without the whipped cream for some reason haha

What I Would Change:

Pudding

  • The pudding was maybe a liiiitle too sweet for my taste–maybe knock off a few tablespoons of sugar?
  • Maybe try a malted milk pudding OMG

Whipped Cream

  • I could potentially double the amount of powdered sugar in the whipped cream…though it’s not really necessary for this recipe specifically because the pudding was really sweet on its own
  • I noticed that the whipped cream looked more rough around the edges than frosting does…almost like canned whipped cream! In fact, because there was so little sugar it kind of tasted more like canned whipped cream as well. Maybe I was just expecting it to taste and look like a frosting (which clearly makes no sense on my part lol), but I’m so glad it didn’t because it would have made the dessert soooo overwhelmingly sweet

Comparable Recipes:

Other Comments:

  • The pudding turned out SO smooth–I’ve never had that happen before/I’ve always needed to strain puddings to get them to be smooth. THANK YOU ALLRECIPES COMMENTERS ❤
  • I keep trying to decide whether I want to try to make a pastry cream one day…they’re SO high in cholesterol because of all the yolks (I hate baking with yolks) and honestly I don’t really like cream puffs and tarts and a lot of other desserts containing pastry cream…but ugh I feel like it’s one of those universal things I need to learn how to make!
  • I also want to learn to make pastry cream to be able to use it in a crepe cake…but I’m wondering whether there’s a way to modify this recipe and make it more stable and thus more usable in a crepe cake? Maybe just cook it longer? More cornstarch?
  • I’m glad that I found a stabilizer for whipped cream other than gelatin! That said, based on my expectation that the whipped cream would turn out like frosting, I have a hunch (read: know) that I’ve forgotten how long whipped cream lasts without a stabilizer…I should probably figure that out at some point too sigh lol
  • Some of my cousins once told me the best thing to get at Magnolia was the banana pudding…I really want to try theirs and also want to learn to make my own. But almost all recipes for banana pudding basically call for vanilla pudding layered with nilla wafers and bananas…is there no banana in magnolia’s banana pudding??
  • I considered tossing some cooked rice into the pudding to turn it into a rice pudding, which I know my parents like…but I couldn’t find the massive pot of cooked rice that my mom usually keeps in the fridge…what?
  • I feel like this recipe is a great starter/base for incorporating fruits, putting into crepes, filling tarts, turning into rice pudding, and so much more!! 🙂
  • Apparently one trick to prevent scorching/sticking to the pudding pan involves rinsing cold water into the saucepan before cooking begins? 😮

photo 1 (6)

Which is the prettiest?!

Leave a Reply

