bakerisbetter

Carrot Cake/Bread with Buttermilk Pineapple Pudding and a Honey Cream Cheese Frosting

IMG_2019 IMG_1996

Made the little ones with Phoebe! But later I missed having pineapples in my carrot cake so I made a pineapple pudding and a second batch šŸ™‚

Recipes Used:

What I Changed:

  • Used the full amount of sugar called for in the carrot cake (which I didn’t do last time)
  • Added a few trader joe’s frozen pineapple chunks into the mini-cupcakes

What I Liked:

  • The texture was incredibly smooth for carrot cake!
  • Again, cooking the carrots in advance makes them 129489361 times easier to grate AND improves the texture a ton.
  • The pineapple chunks were so good! But I missed the…lingering essence? of pineapple inĀ other carrot cake recipes from pineapple juice being incorporatedĀ into the batter…need to find a way to incorporate the pineapple juice into this one somehow. I wonder if it would totally mess up the texture and make the cake mushy if I just added some into the batter…
  • The frosting was SO GOOD. A bit runny, but deeelicious! Honey and cream cheese taste amazing together! The lack of butter really ensures that the flavor of the cream cheese stands out.

What I Would Change:

  • I used the finest size grater I had, but I think next time I might go with the slightly larger size–I kind of miss the texture of a more crumbly carrot cake. If anything, I think boiling the carrots in advance will help prevent the cakeĀ from being too crumbly while using a slightly larger grater will preventĀ the cakeĀ from becoming too homogenous in texture.

Comparable Recipes:

Other Comments:

  • IĀ want to see what happens when I try boiling the carrots in some kind of juice, like the juice from the canned pineapple, or maybe orange juice? I wonder if I’d be able to taste the difference…
  • I actually froze some of the baked minis and tried thawing them out later in the fridge to (1) see if it would make them more moist (2) see if they actually turned out okay. Didn’t seem more moist, but definitely froze/thawed well overall šŸ™‚
  • I also actually tried to freeze some of the batter and bakedĀ it later to see what would happen. Unsurprisingly, the cake didn’t rise as much and the texture was evenĀ more homogenous/less air-filled. I’ll probably avoid doing this in the future unless I have to. It’s not the worst, (especially if the cake is covered in a delicious frosting heh) but it’s less than ideal.
Leave a Reply

