bakerisbetter

Cheesecake-stuffed Mascarpone Bread Pudding with Salted Caramel Sauce…For Breakfast

IMG_3154 (1).JPG

I started with French Toast as my goal, I promise…

Recipe Used:

What I Changed:

  • Whipped up 4oz Cream Cheese, 1/2 Egg, 1/6 cup sugar, 1T Flour and a splash of Vanilla
  • Assembled day 1 and let it sit overnight to soak, baked on day 2 and stuck it in the fridge to let the flavors meld overnight, and re-heated (~30 min) on day 3 with some cinnamon-brown sugar sprinkled on top to give it a niiice crunchy crust
  • Made sure to separate from the sides of the pan while it was hot, but only turned it out after the re-heating. Important to grease well!

What I Liked:

  • The ingredients were really well-proportioned
  • The crust was a wonderful contrast to the softness of the bread and cheesecake
  • The caramel…omg
  • The caramel was super easy to make! I need to find a go-to caramel-in-pan recipe…I tried a pretty good one a few months back in an apple yogurt cake but I tooootally lost the recipe 😦

IMG_3153

You can see the buttery caramel seeping through ❤

What I Would Change:

  • Might try leaving the tbsp out of the flour and seeing how I like it next time
  • I don’t know if I tasted the mascarpone…I feel like I would only be able to tell if I tried to make it without the mascarpone, if that makes sense? I also wonder how it would turn out with buttermilk!

Other Comments:

  • My new favorite banana cake recipe!!! I’ll keep experimenting but this is the best one I’ve made so far. (I’ve tried a bunch of banana bread/cake recipes because my family really likes banana bread but not one of them has ever stood out as much as this one.)
  • I want to try other recipes from this blog! I really like it 🙂

 

IMG_3150

In all its glory.

Leave a Reply

