bakerisbetter

Sweet Potato Rolls!

IMG_3392.JPG

Recipe Used:

What I Changed:

  • Kneaded about 15-20 mins
  • Turned into rolls
  • Finally got some instant yeast! I still decided to proof it though, cause I was being paranoid
  • Took about 25 minutes to bake
  • Let it rise in the fridge for about 3 days before I finally got a chance to bake it off

What I Liked:

  • SO SOFT and SO MOIST for DAYS.
  • I imagine that this would have been a suuuuper straightforward recipe using very few bowls had I not decided to proof
  • Very…interesting orange color haha

What I Would Change:

  • Would be amaaaazing with some honey butter
  • I actually wish it had been a little sweeter!
  • It had a very yeast-y flavor/smell due to the long rise, and I finally understand what blogs mean when they say the overnight rise “develops” the flavor. At first, I was unsure of whether the instant yeast was the cause or whether the long rise was the cause. However, after using the instant yeast in other recipes immediately/without a long rise, I’m 100% sure it’s the long rise. I love finally solving the mysteries like that! 😛
  • Little lumpy looking on the outside, maybe I’ll just knead a little more next time when shaping the rolls

Comparable Recipes:

Other Comments:

  • The dough was a little bit on the wet side, but not totally unmanageable
  • Curious to see how adding plain potatoes affects bread!
Leave a Reply

