bakerisbetter

Whole Wheat Almond Shortbread with Pudding

IMG_3670.JPG

For papa bear’s day! With nutella in writing and at the bottom under the pudding 😀

Whole Wheat Almond Shortbread

Recipe Used/What I Changed:

  • For the cookie base, I used the remainder of a pancake dry mix I had made up previously, and added a few extra ingredients (trying to clear out my pantry for the move so I may be posting a bunch of recipes where I use odd amounts of weird ingredients hehe)
  • 1 c Whole Wheat Flour

  • .5 c White

  • 1/6 c Malted Milk Powder

  • 1 Cup Confectioner’s Sugar

  • 2 T Granulated Sugar

  • .75 t BS

  • 1/8 t BP

  • 3/8 t Salt

  • 6 T Butter

  • .5 t Almond Extract

What I Liked:

  • Overall turned out well, flavor was delish

  • The pastry cream helped soften the cookie a lot, so it worked increeeeedibly well as a digestive cookie (had a sugar cookie texture after a few hours)

  • Almond flavor was great–helped mask the whole wheat taste better than vanilla could, imo

What I Would Change:

  • Would maybe add a few tbsp of milk next time, or more butter? To keep it “crispy” without making it hard, if that makes sense?

 

Pudding

Recipe Used:

What I Changed:

  • Used this recipe once with the banana and once without
  • Used 2 percent milk in both batches
  • Blended in then strained out the bananas after steeping for a few hours
  • Reduced the milk from approx 2 cups–>1 cup in the banana
  • Also used confectioner’s sugar and reduced the cornstarch slightly in both – 2 tsp in the vanilla, did the calculation by weight in the banana pudding. Liked the set of the banana a bit more, was nice and loose. The vanilla set was a biiiiit more firm than I wanted it to be, but returned to more loose consistency with a little whisking. More of a skin than I wanted in the vanilla. Could have allllmost sliced through it
  • Also strained after cooking for 2 minutes post-boil

What I Liked:

  • Butter, as I’ve found out, makes a HUGE difference in silkiness/texture. It was incredible how much more smooth the final product was with the butter. Helps in creating a creamier taste as well.
  • Loved that the banana pudding tasted like a REAL banana pudding.
    • Also became abundantly clear that Magnolia and Sweet Life just use vanilla pudding 😛
  • The color of the 2% vanilla pudding was really nice!

What I Would Change:

  • I think the one thing I didn’t like was the color of the banana pudding, far more brown than in the photo :/ I wonder if the same thing would happen if I used slightly less brown bananas and/or didn’t steep them as long.
  • Wish the vanilla had been sweeter, didn’t think about the sweetness that the banana would add and how the recipe probably accounted for that

Comparable Recipes:

Other Comments:

  • I wonder how banana liquor/extract makes things taste…
  • Also wonder how a homemade banana sauce reduction stirred in would affect taste, especially relative to steeping bananas
Leave a Reply

