bakerisbetter

Lemon Tarts and Squares

436D427D-574E-4219-9F92-C02BA2B3F295.JPG

Baked these squares off for the folks at the window at school ๐Ÿ™‚

Recipe Used:

What I Changed

  • Used the sugar cookie dough that I had lying around as a base. Important to only par-bake (70%?) to make sure it doesnt get too hard in the second bake

What I Liked

  • Wish the stovetop version had a better set
  • Overall, lemon desserts are easier to make than I had thought ๐Ÿ˜› Especially when the crustย is ready to bake!
  • I wish they had formed more of a crust, but I think that would require a better creaming of eggs/sugar, which I was too lazy to do/strapped for time ๐Ÿ˜› Would be curious to see what the trick is there, though! Edna had mentioned there was something in the technique to me at one point but I never made them at her place

What I Would Change

  • Baking the crust less–I burned a small part of some of the squares!
  • Always better to dust with sugar as late as possible b/c it just dissolves into the tart, even if it’s cold out! The squares had actually been covered in a solid layer of sugar after cooled and the picture is from ~24-36h later

Other Comments

  • Makes for such a pretty flower design ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ Should have let some of the yellow show through!
  • Important to make sure the sugar completely dissolves in the eggs, which can be hard to do by hand if the ingredients are cold. If not dissolved, the sugar really sinks to the bottom :/
  • I think I actually prefer a sweet/sugar cookie crust to contrast with the tartness of the lemon, as opposed to a barely-sweetened pie crust

8054C0F4-115A-4D17-90C7-526351FF03A5.JPG

Leave a Reply

