bakerisbetter

Scallion Potato Rolls

IMG_3520.JPG

Little flecks of scallion! Tried the potato bread recipe with bread flour this time 🙂

Recipe Used:

What I Changed:

  • Made 15 rolls and a loaf
  • Used rapidrise yeast (this is the same as instant, I think?)
  • Baked for approx 24 min
  • Baked the potato instead of boiling
  • Added 3 TBSP of flour
  • Added 1/2 c chopped scallions

What I Liked:

  • Super soft, stayed fresh for days
  • Could taste the scallions but would have liked to taste them a bit more
  • These turned out much, much lighter/fluffier than the potato rolls–it’s crazy how the type of flour makes such a difference!
  • Very tender bread
  • Browned much more nicely than the AP flour potato roll, I actually may have slightly overcooked. That said, I intentionally undercooked the loaf (not the rolls) of scallion bread and I think that I must have slightly underbaked the AP flour rolls…but I like them undercooked hehe 😛

IMG_3518.JPG

What I Would Change:

  • Sticking to AP flour, I think. This bread was great overall–like it more than the dry milk bread. That said, even when I slightly undercooked, it didn’t have that “melt-in-your-mouth” mouthfeel with the bread flour, whereas the AP flour rolls did. I really hope I get that effect again with the next batch of potato rolls
  • Would add some onion powder to this dough to enhance the scallion/onion flavor! And maybe some dried scallions on top though those take forever to make…

Other Comments:

  • Turned the rolls out of the pan and let them cool on a silpat bc I was afraid of the bottoms getting burned like all the cookies. Bottoms were nice and light, though. Butttt letting them cool on the silpat made the bottoms soggy…but also keeping it in the loaf pan made the bottom of the loaf a little soggy (though I turned it out before it got too bad)…I wonder if it has something to do with the bread flour?
  • I like this whole “isolate and change one variable” thing heheh 😛


Leave a comment